Health Professions July 12, 2019
Professor Martin Marshall to replace Helen Stokes-Lampard as new Chair of RCGP

By Daniel Male - Accountable Care Journal

(Photo credit Grainge Photography/RCGP) 

Professor Martin Marshall is the new Chair-elect of the RCGP and will succeed Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard in November 2019 for a three-year term.

Marshall is a GP in Newham, East London, and Professor of Healthcare Improvement at UCL. He has been the College’s Vice Chair for External Affairs since 2016 and in previous roles has experience of working in government and the charity sector.

Upon receiving the result, he said: "I am honoured and humbled to be elected as the next Chair of the RCGP and will do everything I can to represent the views of frontline GPs across the UK. I have a passionate commitment to the values of the NHS, and to patient care, and our professional voice is central at this time of great change."

"I would like to thank my fellow candidates, Simon and Kamila, for running such a dignified campaign, and the members of Council who have put their trust and confidence in me," he added.

The two other candidates in the election, independently conducted by UK Engage, were Professor Simon Gregory and Professor Kamila Hawthorne.

Professor Marshall also paid tribute to the current chair of the College, Helen Stokes-Lampard, for leaving 'a strong legacy' to build on.

Unlike other Medical Royal Colleges, the RCGP has a Chair and a President. The Chair of Council is the leader of the College and sets its strategic direction and policy. The President is the ‘constitutional’ head of the College. The two-year post is currently held by Professor Mayur Lakhani who will be succeeded by Professor Amanda Howe, also in November 2019.

#ACJ #ACJPrimary