Health July 11, 2019
Hospital team safeguarding trafficking victims win NHS Parliamentary Award

By News Feature - Accountable Care Journal

A safeguarding team at a Trust in Hertfordshire have been recognised in the prestigious NHS Parliamentary Awards.

The Safeguarding Team at West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust were crowned joint winners of the Health Equalities Award for their work in covert operations, working with the police to provide safe and well checks for potential victims of sex trafficking.

Their work is the first operation to involve a collaboration between health services and the police to safeguard vulnerable individuals who are hard to reach and have limited access to healthcare.

In total, they have carried out eight operations where 40 women have received safe and well checks and further safeguarding investigations have taken place.

They were presented with their award at the House of Commons alongside winners of other categories from around the country. They were selected from hundreds of nominations submitted by over 230 MPs.

Michelle Mulvaney from the Safeguarding Team expressed her pride with the achievement, saying: "The team have worked with a very vulnerable, hard to reach group of women who require healthcare, protection and safeguarding. It is vital that this work continues to ensure potential victims are given access to healthcare and support which is often not readily available to them."

Ann Radmore, Regional Director for NHS England and Improvement in the East of England, said: "The Safeguarding Team is a worthy winner for our region in this year’s Parliamentary Awards. Their work is a great example of collaboration between services to safeguard vulnerable people and ensure they are accessing the healthcare they need. Congratulations to the team."

Other awards include:

The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award: Oxfordshire Mental Health Partnership, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust

The Excellence in Health Care Award: Olutayo Arikawe, The Priory Community Pharmacy

The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: Dr Peter Buchman & the Pathway Homeless Team, the Royal London Hospital and East London NHS Foundation Trust

The Excellence in Primary Care Award: Joint Winner: Ade Williams, Bedminster Pharmacy, Bristol

The Future NHS Award: The Autologous Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation Team led by Professor Basil Sharrack & Professor John Snowden

The Volunteer of the Year Award: Winner: Aintree Hospital Volunteer End of Life Companions, Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

The Care and Compassion Award: Kate Tantam & The ICU Rehabilitation Team, University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust

The Health Equalities Award: Joint Winner: Chantel Palmer, North Middlesex University Hospital NHS Trust

 Wellbeing at Work Award: Wellbeing at Work, North Bristol NHS Trust 

 Lifetime Achievement Award: Pamela Campbell, Solent NHS Trust

Joint Winner: RESTORE2, West Hampshire Clinical Commissioning Group, Wessex Academic Health Science Network

Simon Stevens, chief executive of NHS England, added: "It has once again been a privilege to celebrate with some of the extraordinarily dedicated and selfless health and care heroes who make the NHS what it is today - the much-loved institution that our patients say is what makes them most proud to be British.

"From those who have devoted their lives to helping people and supporting some of our most vulnerable, to delivering pioneering lifesaving treatments, the NHS Parliamentary awards are rightly honouring those who continue to make a huge contribution to our country, through our NHS Long Term Plan."