Health Professions May 1, 2019
Candidates announced for next RCGP president: Voting open

By News Feature - Accountable Care Journal

Seven candidates are standing to succeed Professor Mayur Lakhani as the next President of the Royal College of General Practitioners when he demits office after his two-year term in November.

Contesting the position are:

  • Professor Rodger Charlton: Professor of Undergraduate Primary Care at the University of Leicester and GP partner and trainer in Solihull 
  • Dr John Chisholm: RCGP nationally-elected Council Member, Deputy Chair of the RCGP Trustee Board and Vice President of the BMA
  • Dr Sunil Gupta: RCGP Council Member, MRCGP examiner, GP trainer and GP in Essex
  • Professor Amanda Howe: Immediate past-President of the World Organisation of Family Doctors (WONCA), Professor of Primary Care at the University of East Anglia and RCGP East Anglia Faculty Provost
  • Professor Roger Jones: Editor of the British Journal of General Practice (BJGP) and Emeritus Professor of General Practice at Kings College London
  • Dr Imran Rafi: former Medical Director of the RCGP’s Clinical Innovation and Research Centre (CIRC), Senior Lecturer in Primary Care Education at St George’s University of London and GP in Surrey
  • Dr Carter Singh: GP partner in Nottinghamshire, RCGP Vale of Trent Faculty Board Member, Nottinghamshire Local Medical Committee member 

The RCGP President is the ceremonial head of the College, but without executive powers, whereas the Chair, Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, leads on strategic direction and policy at the organisation.

Voting is now open (Wednesday, 1 May) and will close at noon on Friday, 31 May. All Members and Fellows in good standing – including Associates in Training - are eligible to vote in the election, which will be conducted officially and independently by the Electoral Reform Services (ERS).

The Presidential candidates’ video election statements can be viewed here:

Voting is also now open for six nationally-elected Council Member places, which will become vacant from November 2019. The six successful candidates will sit for three years.